Sunday April 23rd 
Old House B&B to the Carriage House Hotel, Standedge

Distance: 13.13 ml

Elevation: 2403′

Overnight:

1_b

The Carriage House,
HD7 6NL,
0148 484 4419

B&B: £40.00

Expected walking time: 5h 26min

A great Sunday morning breakfast at Old House B&B. Poached eggs and bacon. Another sunny day generally and no rain was experienced during the walk.

I enjoyed this walk although I did lose the path a couple of times. The first was after crossing the dam at Torside. I went through the turnstile and straight up to the road missing the very prominent sign hidden in full view. Too much talking with dog walkers sat on the bench next to the sign! The second time was a wrong footpath taken just before Laddow rocks, but quickly spotted and corrected.

The ascent of Black Hill was quiet with only a couple of fell runners passed who were coming down. The summit I also found I had to myself. But the descent to the road was busy with many people making the ascent having parked up. Some not really suitably attired. Later I would learn from Ken, met yesterday at Old House and like me staying at Carriage House, that he was involved with someone who’d had a nasty fall. Mountain Rescue and helicopter both involved.

The grill van was at the road. Having had a hearty breakfast I opted for a cold Diet Coke and a huge Eccles cake that I should eat for lunch later on.

08:36 left Old House

09:04 A628 crossing

11:12 Black Hill

11:55 A635 and the burger van

12:41 Wessenden reservoir

13:34 Black Moss reservoir

14:22 Carriage House

I walked to the B road to get to Carriage House (off route). Once inside the place was heaving with people enjoying a late Sunday lunch. I went to my room, which was clean, light and airy, had my bath, and chilled on the bed until 7pm.

By then the place was much quieter. A meal with San Diego Ken of slow cooked lamb Turkish style and sticky toffee pudding with ice cream.

Once back in the room my coffee tray arrived and the Sky TV was fixed. Watched Call of Duty then sleep.

27,433 steps

5.75 hours

