Friday April 28th
Tan Hill Inn to Middleton in Teesdale

Distance: 16.67 ml

Elevation: 1678′

Overnight:

lr_the-teesdale-hotel-middleton-in-teesdale_130720121338222793

Teesdale Hotel,
DL12 0QG
01833 640264

Bed & breakfast: £40.00

Expected walking time: 6h 12min

After an enormous breakfast I set out across Sleightholme Moor.  Very little rain over previous weeks had left the moors and rivers quite dry and it didn’t surprise me to find the moor crossing benign. One small patch of bog was quickly passed and the rat was not at all the problem suggested in the guide book.  Had it been wetter then I might have chosen to use the road.

At Sleightholme Farm I made a slight deviation and took the path north of the river. I’d walked this with the LDWA earlier this year (see April’s member magazine for photos).  The PW is soon rejoined and I descended to Gods Bridge.

I was making good time today and was now on previously walked paths. No need to consult the map, just hit the hills and press on.  I stopped for lunch at Hannah’s Meadow.  A bit too early to see it at its best.

Then over to Grassholme reservoir.  Rather an intimate reservoir crossing, I liked the crenellated walls.  The last hurdle was the steepish climb up and over Harter Fell and into Middleton in Teesdale.  Plenty of time to buy a wedding anniversary card from a craft shop and treat myself to an end of walk ice cream.

The Teesdale lamb burger in the hotel that night was excellent.  The room cheap and cheerful, but everything functioned and I just needed to rest.

Spot Times

08:33 left Tan Hill Inn

10:46 Gods Bridge

12:38 Hannah’s Meadow

14:56 Middleton in Teesdale

Statistics from Moves App

6:38 hours

2,204 calories burned

37,138 steps

32.9 km

