Saturday April 22nd
Edale YHA to Torside

Distance: 16.52

Elevation: 2746′

Overnight:

the-old-house-b-b-and

The Old House B&B,
01457 857527,
oldhouse@torside.co.uk,
oldhouse.torside.co.uk

B&B: £55.00

Expected walking time: 6h 42min

Today is my 50th birthday.  The PW was ‘born’ on the 24th April 1965.  A double weekend birthday celebration.  There are events this weekend celebrating the PW’s birthday.

Arrived in Edale by train at 18:50. I had a rough idea where the YHA was, but the route from Edale wasn’t as well signposted as I expected. Anyway followed my nose and about 35 minutes later I arrived.

The YH was busy with groups and children. Back end of Easter holidays and to be expected.  3 bunks in my dorm. Three bottom bunks already taken so I was the sole occupant of a top bunk.  Ordered a beef chilly which was really good.  Lots of salad on a huge plate. The independent traveller was catered for differently to the groups! Followed by spotted dick and custard, yum.

Sleep was ok. I must have snored lots but not so much as the guy on the bottom bunk was farting! A fire alarm at 6:15 had about 6 of us standing outside and was the excuse I needed to get ready. Showered mistakenly in the women’s, but at that time in the morning everyone else had decided to go back to bed.  Breakfast eaten, fruit ‘borrowed’ and I was off.

Marginally shorter route back to Edale having now got my bearings. Popped out in front of the Nags Head. Perfect. First climb and I christened my new walking poles. Have never used poles before but with a heavier pack than usual I thought they’d help. Wow, they did! Climbing was much less energy sapping.

8:14 start at Edale YHA

10:19 trig point close to Edale Rocks

10:55 Kinder downfall

13:45 Bleaklow Head

15:41 Old House, Torside

Just after Kinder downfall I had reason to lend some fist aid kit after an elderly gentleman face planted a rock. Nasty lacerations to forehead and busted nose. In retrospect we probably should have called Mountain Rescue because head injuries can be dangerous. But the fellow seemed sure he would make it back down the way he had come with his 2 walking partners.

Arriving at Old House Joanne’s first words after saying hello were coffee or tea. Fantastic. The sun was out. Shortly after 4 other walkers on a weekend arrived and we sat outside on the deck sharing walking stories.

Later Ken, a walker on the PW from San Diego arrived. I’d passed Ken earlier in the day. Joanne’s husband shuttled us all to the Peels Arms for tea. A great steak and kidney pie. No space for pudding.

steps taken 35,378

time taken 6.5 hours ish

