My kit list

Everything I’ve read stresses the importance of travelling light.  Fortunately I have the luxury of staying in B&Bs and so I haven’t to pack a tent and the myriad of other pieces of equipment needed for camping.

My mental total pack weight limit excluding food, water and what I was wearing was 10kg.  Here’s what I packed.

Core 2924g

Pack MW Ventura 40L 1200
Carabiners  Poundland! 24
Cape / poncho 324
Hydration pack Camelback 194
Water filter Sawyer Mini 76
Water bottle Alloy 124
Camera + batteries Nikon CoolPix 186
Spare AA camera battery x2 Uniross Rechargables 62
Battery Charger Uniross USB 30
Trekking poles x2 Eurohike Pinnacle Carbon ULite 404
Rail tickets
Printed itinary  10
Wallet  300

Weather / Environmental Protection 1186g

The Montane jacket packs away to the size of a grapefruit.  I had purchased a North Face jacket with an artificial down inner, but that outer was 516g (a delta of 200g!).  However, the North Face jacket might still be the one I take.

The umbrella might seem an extravagance but I’m surprised more walkers do not carry one.  My rain protection includes waterproof internal bags, integrated rucksack cover, outer jacket, poncho (which doubles as a groundsheet / sit mat) and covers the rucksack too, and brolly.  Multiple rain layers.  I can open all the vents in the outer jacket when using the poncho.

Outer jacket Montane 314
Umbrella Swing LiteFlex 230
Cap with Mosquito Net 64
Sunscreen Nivea 50+ 62
Sunscreen stick Ombra 30 42
Lip balm Vaseline 34
Sunglasses 24
Buff 56
Sealable plastic bags

Navigation 782g

I removed the first sections of the guidebook (about a third of the pages) leaving just the route description.  Best route description I’ve found and likely will be my main navigational aid.  I have the OS maps app on my iPhone.  I’ve also downloaded all the necessary OS maps for offline access using the codes – the physical maps are staying in the cupboard.  Back-up if everything else fails are the waterproof Harvey maps.

Maps x3 Harvey maps 184
OS GPS iPhone 5S 170
Charger iPhone / USB charger 56
Compass Silva 44
Phone bag 42
Guidebook Trailblazers 244
Guidebook bag 42

Emergency 738g

The Sol emergency bivvy is a great size and weight and gives a real sense of security given that I’m walking alone.

The insect repellent from Poundland I’ve found to be really effective on previous walks. I spray the Aussie style hat I like to wear and the flies stay away.

Bivvy bag Sol Emergency Bivvy 110
1st aid kit 166
Hand sanitiser 64
Whistle LifeSystems 10
Energy bars x2 Trek 108
Dextrose tablets x3 Body volt 116
Head torch Silva 78
Spare battery 3x AAA 38
Insect repellent Poundland 20
Toilet paper Tesco Luxury soft 28

Clothes 2028g

This doesn’t include the first layer of clothes worn whilst walking: thigh length underwear (78g), shorts (168g), SealSkinz socks (128g), long sleeve Under Armour top (218g), wide brimmed Aussie style hat (126g).

The layering can begin with an armless Under Armour t-shirt, then long sleeve Under Armour top, then fleece, then down jacket, then outer layer.

The Thinsulate winter gloves are being left at home (98g).  I’ve been walking all winter and haven’t worn them.

Big question mark about taking camp shoes.  I have a pair of Mizuno’s at 562g.  That’s too much weight and I need to find a solution at about 100g.

Fleece Craghoppers 328
Underwear x2 Take 5 156
Overnight Socks x3 54
Trousers Ellesse 372
T-shirts x3  UnderArmour/Asics/K15-A 554
Artificial Down Jacket The North Face 396
Gloves Knitted Fingerless 36
Clothes w’proof bag Muddy Puddles 132

Overnight 685g

2 weeks with feet in SealSkinz might just need some fungal treatment.  The first aid kit contains nail clippers, scissors and Compeed.

The shorts are the 2nd pair for walking doubling up as nightwear.  Because I wear thigh length underwear the shorts don’t get sweaty or smelly so I expect to wear the same pair every day unless I fall into a bog and have to wash them overnight.

Overnight bag 66
Toothbrush 22
Toothpaste 30
Anti-perspirant Sure Compressed 82
Athlete foot cream  Canestan 30
Fungal Cream 30
Shorts x1 Gore 168
Ear plugs Macks 5
Contact lenses Acuvue 34
Lens Holder 18
Glasses + case 140
Notebook + pencil + sharpener 60

Wearing whilst Walking 1700g

The shoes from Columbia I’ve found to be excellent.  Just finished the Cleveland Survival and Allendale Challenge wearing them.  They clean really easily.  I don’t attempt to keep the water out so they will be permanently wet inside.  I have a new pair for the PW start.

The gaiters stop stones getting in and puncturing the SealSkinz.  Really like these socks. Single layer and no blisters trialling over the winter.  Only packing 1 pair and if there is a problem I can restock when reaching Middleton.

Walking shoes Columbia 726
Gaiters Rab 256
Socks Sealskinz 128
Wide brimmed hat Aussie style 126
Underwear Take 5 78
Shorts x1 Gore 168
Log armed top Under Armour 218

Totals

The right hand column was my first kit-list weight.  This included a 65L pack (Berghaus Trailhead @ 1700g).  A sit mat (138g) was switched to the poncho (324g).  I think the increase in weight is balanced by the poncho’s functionality.

Clothing was reduced by removing the camp shoes (need a solution at 100g) and optimising other items.

Overnight was reduced by taking out a sleeping bag liner.

Overall weight was reduced by about 2kg (20%).  Total pack weight, assuming only first layer of clothing is worn, is about 11500g.  Which reduces as food is eaten and water consumed.

I’m intending to do the Southern Upland Way later in the year using bothies and camping.  I’ll need to rethink the packing for that trip.

Core 2924 3238
Weather Protection 826 1186
Navigation 740 740
Emergency 728 738
Clothing 2028 3088
Overnight 685 977
 SUB-TOTAL 7931 9967
Lunch 1000 1000
Water 2500 2500
 TOTAL 11431 13423
